Nebraska Phone Number Lookup

Nebraska Area Codes and Their Locations

Nebraska area codes, represented by the first three digits in 10-digit phone numbers, specify  particular regions and metropolitan areas within the state. Learning about area codes within Nebraska can help you decipher the origin of an unknown number: whether the call is from your area, surrounding areas, or out of state. Nebraskans can also use reverse phone lookup services to identify strangers calling with unknown numbers.

The area codes in the State of Nebraska and the areas they cover include:

308 - Location
402 - Location
531 - Location

Who Controls Nebraska Area Codes?

Following the 1996 Telecommunication Act, the Federal Communications Commission was authorized to administer and allocate telephone numbers and ensure uniformity. The FCC created and empowered the North American Numbering Plan Administrator (NANPA) to oversee the distribution of phone numbers and authorize new area codes for qualified areas. The FCC gives the Nebraska Public Service Commission the duty of implementing and regulating telecommunication services at the state level.

Where is Area Code 308?

Area code 308 serves multiple counties, cities, and towns in Western Nebraska including Arthur county, Banner County, Blaine County, Sheridan County, Logan County, Grant County, Custer County, Franklin County, Cheyenne County, Greeley County, Sherman County, Scottsbluff County, and Valley County. Some major cities covered by area code 308 include Alliance, Gering, Grand Island, Kearney, McCook, North Platte, Scottsbluff, and Sidney.

Where are Area Code 402 and 531?

Overlaid by area code 531, Nebraska 402 area code covers the eastern and north central parts of the state. Major counties covered include Douglas County, Wayne County, Butler County, Cass County, Sarpy County,  Franklin County, Madison County, Polk County, Platte County, Thurston County, Washington County, Saunders County, Lancaster County, and Nemaha County. Major cities using the telephone area code 402 include Lincoln, Omaha, Bellevue, Columbus, Elkhorn city, Fremont, Hastings, and Norfolk.